Difference between pages "Help:Managing files" and "Help:Moving a page"

From Funtoo
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
m (1 revision: Importing the public domain help content from Mediawiki)
 
m (1 revision: Importing the public domain help content from Mediawiki)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{PD Help Page}}
 
{{PD Help Page}}
If file uploads are enabled, you can upload certain types of files to the wiki. This is particularly useful for uploading images, which you want to place on an article, but you can also upload other types of files.
 
  
==Upload a file==
+
'''Moving (renaming) a page''' means giving it another name. This is done by using the "{{lc:{{MediaWiki:move}}}}" [[Help:Navigation#Page Tabs|tab]] at the top. The tab is not visible if you are not logged in. Then simply enter the new name and click "{{MediaWiki:movepagebtn}}". Normally you would want to leave the "{{MediaWiki:movetalk}}" option ticked.
# Prepare the file for upload. Make sure the file is exactly as you want it.
+
# In the [[Help:Navigation#Sidebar|sidebar]], under “{{lcfirst:{{int:toolbox}}}}”, click “'''{{int:upload}}'''.”
+
# Click “'''Browse'''” next to the “'''{{int:sourcefilename}}'''” to locate the file on your computer (the name of the “browse” button depends on your web browser).
+
# Change the “'''{{int:destfilename}}'''” to something descriptive, if necessary.
+
# Fill in the “'''{{int:filedesc}}''',” if necessary.
+
# Click the “'''{{int:uploadbtn}}'''” button.
+
  
If it is a large file, you may need to wait several seconds for the upload to complete.
+
If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:
 +
* Renames the title of page "A" as "B"
 +
* Renames all the editing history of page "A" as of page "B" as well
 +
* Creates a new page "A", whose content is a [[Help:Redirects|redirect]] to page "B"
 +
<!--I think the above describes just the opposite to what actually happens in the database, I'm going to replace it with correct description: page is not actually moved in [[Page table]], it's simply given a new title-->
  
== Using images and file description pages ==
+
The second point is important. By using the "{{MediaWiki:move}}" feature, you also '''move the editing history''', which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not achieve this (see also [[Help:Tracking changes]]).
After you've uploaded a file, you can use it in an article, with some special wiki syntax to create the link. See [[Help:Images]].
+
  
Your file gets its very own “file description page” within the {{ns:image}} [[Help:Namespaces|namespace]] of the wiki. You should edit this page to provide more information about the file. For example, many public wiki projects are quite sensitive to copyright issues, and so you should explain where you got the file from, and what its copyright status is, on the description page. Any other useful descriptive notes could also be added there.
+
Because the move operation '''leaves behind a redirect''' (see [[Help:Redirects]]), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The "{{MediaWiki:whatlinkshere}}" feature, which can be used through the link in the {{MediaWiki:toolbox}} (at bottom of the [[Help:Navigation#Sidebar|sidebar]] on the left) is useful when doing this.
  
== List of files in the wiki ==
+
== Proposing a move ==
There are a number of special pages to help you view and manage files which have been uploaded. Go to “{{int:specialpages}}” (in the {{lcfirst:{{int:toolbox}}}} on the left) and then see...
+
Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]]. You might also establish a system for labeling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
  
* [[Special:Newimages|{{int:newimages}}]] - If you just uploaded one, you will see it here.   
+
== Undo a move ==
* [[Special:Imagelist|{{int:listfiles}}]] - Shows all of the files.
+
As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user)To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back, e.g. move page "B" back to "A".
* [[Special:Unusedimages|{{int:unusedimages}}]] - Helps you track down files which might not be needed.
+
  
See [[Help:Special pages]] for details of the other information available here.
+
The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see [[Help:Deleting a page]]).
 +
 
 +
== Moving a page without creating a redirect ==
 +
Users with the ''suppressredirect'' [[Help:User rights|user right]] can optionally move a page without creating a redirect. This is particularly useful when undoing a move.
 +
 
 +
== See also ==
 +
* [[Help:Copying a page]]
  
 
{{Languages}}
 
{{Languages}}
[[Category:Help|Managing files]]
+
 
[[Category:Upload]]
+
[[Category:Help|{{PAGENAME}}]]

Latest revision as of 16:54, 29 October 2010

PD Important note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution into the public domain. If you don't want this or can't do this because of license restrictions, please don't edit. This page is one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see Help:Contents for an overview of all pages. See Project:PD help/Copying for instructions. PD


Moving (renaming) a page means giving it another name. This is done by using the "move" tab at the top. The tab is not visible if you are not logged in. Then simply enter the new name and click "Move page". Normally you would want to leave the "Move associated talk page" option ticked.

If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:

  • Renames the title of page "A" as "B"
  • Renames all the editing history of page "A" as of page "B" as well
  • Creates a new page "A", whose content is a redirect to page "B"

The second point is important. By using the "Move" feature, you also move the editing history, which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not achieve this (see also Help:Tracking changes).

Because the move operation leaves behind a redirect (see Help:Redirects), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The "What links here" feature, which can be used through the link in the Tools (at bottom of the sidebar on the left) is useful when doing this.

Proposing a move

Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labeling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.

Undo a move

As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user). To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back, e.g. move page "B" back to "A".

The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see Help:Deleting a page).

Moving a page without creating a redirect

Users with the suppressredirect user right can optionally move a page without creating a redirect. This is particularly useful when undoing a move.

See also

Language: English