Difference between pages "Help:Deleting a page" and "Help:Contents"

From Funtoo
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
{{#ifexist: Template:PD Help Page/{{SUBPAGENAME}}|{{PD Help Page/{{SUBPAGENAME}}}}|{{PD Help Page}}}}
+
{{PD Help Page}}
 +
==Reading==
 +
* [[Help:Navigation|Navigation]]
 +
* [[Help:Searching|Searching]]
 +
* [[Help:Tracking changes|Tracking changes]]
 +
* [[Help:Watchlist|Watchlist]]
  
 +
==Editing==
 +
* [[Help:Editing pages|Editing pages]]
 +
* [[Help:Starting a new page|Starting a new page]]
 +
* [[Help:Formatting|Formatting]]
 +
* [[Help:Links|Links]]
 +
* [[Help:User page|User pages]]
 +
* [[Help:Talk pages|Talk pages]]
 +
* [[Help:Signatures|Signatures]]
  
 +
===Advanced editing===
 +
* [[Help:Images|Images]]
 +
* [[Help:Tables|Tables]]
 +
* [[Help:Categories|Categories]]
 +
* [[Help:Subpages|Subpages]]
 +
* [[Help:Managing files|Managing files]]
 +
* [[Help:Moving a page|Moving (renaming) a page]]
 +
* [[Help:Redirects|Redirects]]
 +
* [[Help:Deleting a page|Deleting a page]]
 +
* [[Help:Protected pages|Protected pages]]
  
== When not to delete a page ==
+
* [[Help:Templates|Templates]]
Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate and do not match the purposes of the Wiki. In other situations, you would take a less extreme course of action, for example:
+
* [[Help:Variables|Variables]]
 +
* [[Help:Namespaces|Namespaces]]
  
* The page should have a different title -- See [[Help:Moving a page]]
+
* [[Help:Special pages|Special pages]]
* The contents should have been placed on a different page -- Add the contents to the other page, and then supply a redirect. See [[Help:Redirects]]
+
* [[Help:External searches|External searches]]
* The contents are already on a different page -- Delete the duplicate content and leave a redirect. That way, the page title, which made sense to somebody, will helpfully redirect to the information. See [[Help:Redirects]]
+
* The page is out-of-date -- Re-word sentences to be in the past tense, to make the page an historical record. Alternatively, label the information as out-of-date, with a warning notice.
+
  
An actual delete is generally necessary only if the ''title'' of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.
+
* [[Help:Bots|Bots]]
  
=== Proposing changes ===
+
===Personal customization===
Deciding on appropriate content/page titles can be a difficult aspect of Wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the merge or deletion you have in mind is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]]. You might also establish a system for labeling the page with a delete/merge proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
+
* [[Help:Preferences|Preferences]]
 +
* [[Help:Skins|Skins]]
  
=== Unlinking a page ===
+
==Wiki administration==
The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom of left sidebar) will tell you which other Wiki pages link to the current page. Always use this feature to check before proceeding with deleting. These related pages will need to be edited for their links to reflect the change.
+
  
== Deletion itself ==
+
* [[Help:Sysops and permissions|Sysops and permissions]]
'''Normal users cannot permanently delete a Wiki page'''. This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. It doesn't cause significant wasted space; and with nothing but a 'delete' label, the page is effectively deleted anyway.
+
  
'[[Help:Sysops and permissions|Sysop]]' users ''are'' able to delete a page semi-permanently. See [[Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting]]. Typically 'sysops' might look for delete labels, and do a proper delete on these pages, after a period of time. If for some reason you need a page to be deleted more quickly than that, you will need to contact a 'sysop' to request this.
+
The following features require extra permissions that are not normally granted to all wiki users.
  
==See also==
+
* [[Help:Protecting and unprotecting pages|Protecting and unprotecting pages]]
* [[Help:Sysops and permissions]]
+
* [[Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting|Sysop deleting and undeleting]]
 +
* [[Help:Patrolled edits|Patrolled edits]]
 +
* [[Help:Blocking users|Blocking users]]
 +
* [[Help:Range blocks|Range IP blocks]]
 +
* [[Help:Assigning permissions|Assigning permissions]]
  
{{Languages|Help:Deleting a page}}
+
{{Languages|Help:Contents}}
 +
[[Category:Help| ]]
 +
__NOTOC__

Revision as of 17:42, 11 January 2014

PD Important note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution into the public domain. If you don't want this or can't do this because of license restrictions, please don't edit. This page is one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see Help:Contents for an overview of all pages. See Project:PD help/Copying for instructions. PD

Reading

Editing

Advanced editing

Personal customization

Wiki administration

The following features require extra permissions that are not normally granted to all wiki users.

Language: English